Work in Progress: Removing the Thorns

At first, I thought the following posts would be a departure from what I usually write. However, the more I think about it, the more it seems highly appropriate to discuss these topics. The umbrella I work under is that of being a “work in progress.”  To present myself as a work in progress is the most authentic act that I can possibly offer.

As I move through my life, I more deeply comprehend the divine contract I once made. I believe that before we incarnate, there is some agreement made as to what kind of life we enter.  Our inherent circumstances are somehow designed to teach the lessons we agreed to learn.

As it stands now, I feel my given traits of being Black and being a woman are coming to the forefront as they never have before.

Restlessness has settled upon me over the last few weeks, if not months. My mind has been in overdrive and my emotions have run the spectrum. Fortunately, I have been able to not get caught in the whirlwind but observe it as it passes. Concurrently, I have had many memories resurface that I haven’t thought about in years.

I feel as if many of my experiences are resurfacing because they are relevant to the messages I am compelled to share at this very volatile time. I’m struggling to make it all coherent as the themes of race, gender, prejudice, and uncertainty weave their way through much of the current American climate.

If you know my heart, then you know my intention is not to be divisive in any way. If you have never read any of my work before, then let me reassure you that I see myself as being a connector. I think there are too many false divides that separate us from our truest selves and therefore separate us from each other. Divides being race, religion, politics, culture…all the triggers we often try to avoid.

It’s so much easier to shield your broken parts from being further disturbed. Author, Michael A. Singer, speaks of removing our thorns. Our thorns represent our “sore spots.”  We can protect our thorns so people can’t touch them and cause further pain or we can choose to boldly take the thorns out.

I think when it comes to these sensitive topics I’ve been hiding my thorns. In the midst of this political race, it has become impossible for me to hide them any longer. I’m ready to confront my thorns and hope you’ll accompany me on the journey and remove a few of your own.

I want to be part of the balm that soothes the tender spots we all have. All I can do is relate my experiences and observations. I hope to convey them in a way that isn’t accusatory or insensitive. I only hope that my honesty can help others to see themselves more clearly as I strive to do the same.

It is not my intention to sway people in their personal stances, but it is my intention to encourage people to let go of the ugliness that has attached itself to our ideological differences.  We have to get conscious if we are going to advance.

Remember, we’re all works in progress.

9 thoughts on “Work in Progress: Removing the Thorns

  1. Dr. Sam – I completely understand how you feel. The last election me tore in the same direction as well. As a social liberal/fiscally conservative person I don’t just feel, but know that neither side represents my viewpoints. So as I headed to the polls -(I already voted) I worked to remove “me” from the political equation and did my best to vote “we”. I voted the what I think is best for the collective not just this or that group. My hope is that in the end it will make a difference, but the reality is I am called to make a difference in my life daily and that is what I strive to do. As I headed to the polls with two of my grandchildren, my 8 yr old granddaughter said – “A longtime ago women couldn’t vote.” I reminded her that not only is that true, but women were the last to be granted the right to vote and my hope is others that are denied certain rights today will have thier voices heard very soon.

    Another work in progress –
    Pamela

    • First of all, call me Emelia!!! I can feel your authenticity coming through and I commend you for sharing the voting experience with your grandchildren. It is also notable that at 8 years old she is aware of the struggle that women went through to gain a voice. As sensitive as you are to these issues, I am sure she is also aware of the civil rights struggle that came thereafter. And as you say, there are many more people seeking other rights in current times.

      As a Canadian citizen living in the US, I do not have the privilege of voting. I just sit on the sidelines watching and feeling the intensity. I suppose the writing is my outlet. I thank you for taking the time to respond. It lets me know that in this way, my voice is heard as a US resident.

      • Hello Emelia – Thank you for your reply. So funny you should mention civil rights. I am blessed to have a very multi-cultural family – The New American Family – and such things are just part of our day to day conversations.

        As for you being on the sidelines…HA! I bet you are still in the fray of the conversation, which as an American I appreciate. The one thing that I always come away with when I leave a voting location is that my life was not threatened, I did not vote under gun fire, nor did I have to travel hundreds of miles for the opportunity to vote. I pray that it is always true in this great land.

        Regardless of the outcome on Nov. 6th. America is not a government, but a great and mighty citizenry.

        Thank you for your contribution,
        Pamela

  2. Hi Dear Emelia,
    I have not been to Triberr for a long time because of so many other projects and writing activities. I joined when Kumud invited me many months ago, but have not posted anything here. I was very pleased to just now discover so many excellent posts of friends such as Martina, Jon, Kumud, and yourself:)

    I just wanted to share a few of thoughts….

    First, don’t ever worry about being divisive. Those of us who know you, know that you ARE a connector, and one who is also keenly aware of the prevailing “separateness” in our political climate, communities, mass and social media, and throughout our world, that IS intensively divisive.

    My sense of you, is this restlessness you reference has been within you for a number of years, which is a good thing. You are sensitive, enlightened, and intelligent, and you are well aware of the turbulence that whirls around and confuses many. Perhaps this restlessness has emerged from within your heart over the last few weeks, if not months, and the relevance of your experiences now compel you to share at this “very volatile time”–because it’s NOW your time to act.

    Instead of struggling to make coherent the themes of race, gender, prejudice, and uncertainty that weave their way through much of the current American climate, even our world, just BE who you are, SHARE your truth, and TRUST that you will reach those who need to hear your heart’s words, and you WILL make a difference.
    Warm Regards Emelia, YOU are a Gem:) EdC

    • Thank you so much, Ed. I’m so thankful you have become part of my circle. I met you through virtual means but you are securely in my heart with your wisdom and insight and infinite compassion. Your words mean more to me than you know. I will be. I will share. I will trust. And yes, I will make a difference. Thank you for being so supportive.

  3. Emelia, this was a “Fan-tabulous” piece! I have also read Michael A. Singer’s book, and I can completely relate to your experience after reading this eye-opening collection of his amazing insights.

    I think it would be incredibly difficult to have read his latest one, and not experience any take away from it, or not see a need to remove “the thorns” in our lives. I imagine you’re experiencing the shock as well, whenever you catch yourself having to pull out one that you have defended in the past, of yourself not having. I know I have. 😀 Those are always the “goodies.”

    I am looking forward to reading the remainder of this series. Thanks for being so transparent on this. Blessings.

  4. Hello Emelia,

    Thanks for Deone for inviting me to join his tribe on Triberr, I’ve discovered your blog. I, too, believe our souls make agreements to experience certain things in this life such that we can express different qualities of Divinity. So, yes, our life experiences that grew those thorns are very much a part of our story and our message. Few of us learn how to heal our wounds and embrace the parts of us that are difficult to embrace until we’re much older; some never do. But, the more of us are willing to go there, the more we encourage others to do the same, instead of disowning parts of themselves, even if unknowingly.

    Nice to be acquainted with you and your work.

    Cheers,
    Alice

    • Thanks for leaving a comment, Alice. I’m so glad to be connecting with more and more souls such as yourself. Deone has really brought together some inspirational people and I’m grateful for being introduced to your work , as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

