Khalil and me


My favorite poet has to be Khalil Gibran. The wisdom woven throughout his words has always spoken to me on a spiritual level. In DC, a beautiful memorial for Gibran hides in plain sight along Embassy Row. A gorgeous autumn afternoon drew me to this place for quiet contemplation.

As I walked towards the fountain, the crunch of leaves beneath my feet filled the air. I examined the fallen leaves taking note of their dulled hues. I wondered where all the vibrancy of autumn had gone…

I sat on one of six benches each etched with a quote from the celebrated artist. Across from me I read, “We live only to discover beauty. All else is a form of waiting.”

I bowed my head, closed my eyes, and listened to the sound of the water. After a few minutes, I looked up between two towering trees. The sun was shining intensely through the leaves. It was then that I could see the golds, reds, and oranges I was missing only moments before. Autumn was in its full glory.

I looked down at my feet surrounded by fallen leaves that once glowed like their counterparts. When I looked up again, the sun had shifted and was shining squarely down on me. Once again, a moment with Khalil resonated deep within and a new affirmation came to mind.

I will allow the Divine to shine through me & reveal my true brilliance.

4 thoughts on “Khalil and me

  1. It’s interesting that you had to ‘close your eyes, gather your thoughts’ ~ and then opened them to ‘see the beauty’ that was always there. I can relate. I will often take a pause, slow down, close my eyes, watch my breath, open my eyes ~ to see new insights.

    Beautiful post. Thank you for sharing the beauty of Gibran. It is all around us.

    Kumud

  2. I’m not surprised that you had to close your eyes. Though amazing gifts, our senses limit us in untold ways. Khalil, like many other connected beings, understood this.

    Here is a passage from the Prophet:

    On Beauty – “It is not the image you would see nor the song you would hear, But rather an image you see though you close your eyes and a song you hear though you shut your ears.”

    I also love the affirmation, but I feel that we are Divine beings, so I’ll suggest that it has less to do with “allowing” and more to do with the “acceptance” of your Divine Birthright…

    Looking forward to hearing more about you and Khalil.

Leave a Reply

