Facing Fears


Yesterday was undoubtedly an important step for my future.  I faced one of my fears head on and did what I think was a decent job.  I belong to a local chapter of the National Speakers Association (NSA).  It’s an organization dedicated to the speaking profession, supporting the skills, advancement, and sense of community amongst its members.

I’ve had a desire to speak about inspirational and motivational material for a few years now.  I thought it would be a good way to share the content within my book while learning about  others’ experiences and triumphs.  I joined NSA to learn more about the profession and figure out how to make my way into it.

Although I found the chapter’s members to be extremely supportive and encouraging, I was still intimidated.  Although I have spoken regularly over the last several years to student audiences of 75+, I second-guessed my abilities to effectively deliver a message.  I mean, look at all the college professors who’ve been teaching for decades and have yet to truly engage an audience.  I wasn’t convinced of my ability and the thought of ever speaking in front of speaking professionals was horrifying.

The opportunity to do just that recently came about so I jumped at it…even though it scared the hell out of me.  I’m convinced that most of our fears are only there to point us in the direction of personal growth.  We think we’re protecting ourselves when we’re really inhibiting our potential.

I spoke to an audience full of speakers and survived. The feedback was incredibly positive and the funny thing is that once I began speaking, the nerves were virtually gone.  I realized that it was a safe space and not the potentially hostile environment I created in my mind.

A heartfelt thanks goes out to NSADC.  Here’s to the next phase!!

Leave a Reply

